Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Sam Thomas on tour for The Midwife’s Tale, January 7 – February 1

Posted By amy @ 11:24 am | 3 Comments

Please join author Sam Thomas as he tours the blogosphere with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours from January 7 – February 1 for The Midwife’s Tale.

Publication Date:  January 8, 2013
Minotaur Books
320p

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas’s remarkable debut, The Midwife’s Tale.

It is 1644, and Parliament’s armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels’ hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget’s friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer.

Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who’s far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha’s past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city’s most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther’s murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand.

Read an excerpt HERE.

PRAISE FOR THE MIDWIFE’S TALE

“Thomas is a historian by profession and it shows in the wealth of detail with which he recreates the city of York amid the turmoil of the English civil war.” —Rhys Bowen, author of the bestselling Royal Spyness series

“A heart-stopping page-turner coupled with a gritty and realistic portrayal of two strong and contrasting woman characters vividly depicted against the backdrop of the besieged city of York.” —Cora Harrison, author of I Was Jane Austen’s Best Friend

“A briskly plotted historical mystery starring a pair of brave, tenacious, intelligent women who take no prisoners and make no apologies.” —Lyndsay Faye, author of Gods of Gotham

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sam Thomas is an assistant professor of history at the University of Alabama in Huntsville. He has received research grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Newberry Library, and the British Academy. He has published articles on topics ranging from early modern Britain to colonial Africa. Thomas lives in Alabama with his wife and two children. 

Connect with Sam ThomasWEBSITE | TWITTER | BLOG

VIRTUAL BOOK TOUR SCHEDULE

Monday, January 7
Review & Giveaway at A Chick Who Reads
Review & Giveaway at Flashlight Commentary

Tuesday, January 8
Review & Giveaway at Peeking Between the Pages

Wednesday, January 9
Review & Giveaway at Ageless Pages Reviews
Review & Author Interview at A Bookish Libraria

Thursday, January 10
Review at Raging Bibliomania

Friday, January 11
Review at The Musings of a Book Junkie

Monday, January 14
Review at A Bookish Affair

Tuesday, January 15
Review & Giveaway at Unabridged Chick

Wednesday, January 16
Feature & Giveaway at Book of Secrets

Monday, January 21
Review & Giveaway at Broken Teepee

Wednesday, January 23
Review at Book Journey
Review & Giveaway at Words and Peace

Thursday, January 24
Review at Book Dilettante
Review at Confessions of an Avid Reader

Friday, January 25
Review at Jenny Loves to Read
Interview at Unabridged Chick

Monday, January 28
Review at So Many Books, So Little Time

Tuesday, January 29
Feature & Giveaway at Passages to the Past

Wednesday, January 30
Review at The Bookworm
Review & Giveaway at Oh, for the Hook of a Book!

Thursday, January 31
Review at Book of Secrets
Review at Sharon’s Garden of Book Reviews
Review at The Musings of ALMYBNENR

Friday, February 1
Review at Reading the Past

Review at Impressions in Ink

TheMidwifesTaleTourBanner-Copy

3 Responses to “Sam Thomas on tour for The Midwife’s Tale, January 7 – February 1”

  1. Carole Freeman says:

    I recently read an Advance Reader Copy of The Midwife.

    I found this novel to be a skillfully blended, fascinating historical story and realistic portrayal about a 17c midwife during the english civil war. While rebels rise against the King and laid siege to the city of York in 1644, the female protagonist, Bridget Hodgson, tries to prevent a grave miscarriage of justice while bringing danger to herself and others in this fast-past historical mystery.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.